BBC Expert Women’s Day – 18th March 2013

BBC Expert Women delegates - 18th March 2013

BBC Expert Women delegates – 18th March 2013

After successfully auditioning for and attending the inaugural BBC Expert Women’s day in January 2013, I was lucky enough to be invited back to attend the BBC Advanced Expert Women’s training day at the BBC Academy in London.

My audition tape
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBH3PJYbMfQ

This was an intensive day of training designed to help highly qualified women improve their on-air skills and teach them how to pitch ideas for programmes and features. We also had the opportunity to network with industry professionals and pitch our TV and radio program ideas to commissioners and TV production companies.

The thought of ‘speed-pitching’ to commissioners and TV production executives terrified me at first and I must admit, I felt a little thrown in at the deep-end.

BBC Academy producer Frank Ash’s presentation on ‘how to pitch’ was very useful and gave me the confidence to put my best foot forward and bite the bullet. Despite my nerves, the speed-pitch session went well and I got some good feedback and advice.

The next day, I pitched the idea to a TV production company for real. They liked my pitch and we are currently developing the idea further. I’m really grateful to the BBC Academy for giving me the confidence and training to take the first step.

The BBC academy has now launched an Expert Women database and YouTube channel which can be found here.

Watch this space, I will be presenting a TV show near you!

Leave a Reply

